About Us

The IQ MPS is a collaboration of pharmaceutical and biotechnologies companies created as an Affiliate within the International Consortium for Innovation and Quality in Pharmaceutical Development (also known as the IQ Consortium). The IQ Consortium is a leading science-focused, not-for-profit organization with a mission of advancing science and technology to augment the capability of member companies to develop transformational solutions that benefit patients, regulators and the broader R&D community (https://iqconsortium.org). The IQ MPS Affiliate was established to provide a venue for appropriate cross-pharma collaboration and data sharing to facilitate the industry implementation and qualification of MPS models. The IQ MPS Affiliate is a not-for-profit organization devoted to raising awareness, advancing the science, and supporting the implementation of microphysiological systems in drug discovery. As such, the IQ MPS Affiliate does not collectively endorse microphysiological systems developers or their products. Presentations to the IQ MPS Affiliate are for awareness and information purposes. Individual IQ MPS Affiliate member organizations may engage external organizations as they see fit.


The Steering Committee provides strategic oversight of the initiative's portfolio and is the primary decision-making body for the IQ MPS Affiliate. The Steering Committee has representation from all member companies and acts on the recommendations of working groups and member companies to establish objectives, policies, and plans of action on a consensus basis.

The Executive Committee provides leadership and guidance in the management of the business and affairs of the consortium between meetings of the Steering Committee, implements strategic plans recommended by the Steering Committee, and provides general counsel and tactical advice in support of IQ MPS’s Working Groups.

Terry Van Vleet, PhD, DABT

Past Chair (2020-2021)

Director of Investigative Toxicology, AbbVie

Read More

Jason Ekert, PhD, MBA

Chair (2021-2022)

Senior Director, 


Read More

Szczepan Baran, MS VMD

Vice Chair (2021-2022)

Head of Emerging Technologies, Novartis

Read More

Rhiannon N. Hardwick, PHD, DABT

Vice Chair Elect (2021-2022)

Senior Scientist, Translational Safety Sciences, Theravance Biopharma

Read More

Working Groups

Organotypic Manuscripts


Pilot Project

Communications and External Outreach

Gap Survey


AbbVie, Inc.
Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Amgen, Inc
Astellas Pharma US, Inc.
Bristol-Myers Squibb Company
Eisai, Inc.
Eli Lilly and Company
Genentech, Inc.

Janssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Merck & Co., Inc.
Merck Healthcare KGaA
Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation
Seattle Genetics, Inc.
Theravance Biopharma
Vertex Pharmaceuticals Incorporated